The Rafa Awards

by queridorafa

After much soul searching, internal debate, external debate, internal wrangling, alligator wrangling, etc., I have made my decisions. Husthencely:

The 3rd Annual Rafa Awards

As usual, Rafa will be attending remotely due to prior commitments.

In the past, I have taken an occasionally fanciful approach to the Rafa Awards, doling out accolades in slightly unconventional categories such as Rafa Khaki Moment of the Year and Rafa Clumsy of the Year. This time around, however, I really want to get back to the basics, back to my roots; I want to eschew all the razzle and the dazzle; the glitter and the gold; I want to peel back the layers of the onion until I reach its reedy core; I want to distill the water until it’s extremely distilled; I want to strip everything down to what’s bare and real and raw and honest–what; mat; ters.

Without further ado.

Most Easily Identifiable Legs/Torso Without a Head of the Year

Legs

Most Important Blender Observing of the Year

Blender

(It’s possible the recency effect is influencing my choices.

Naaah. These are totally legit categories.

Also, I know the Blender Observing selection will be controversial, as many claim that the most important blender observing of the year occurred in the 8th game of the French Open semifinal when Novak Djokovic collided with the net after reportedly observing a blender in the distance and becoming momentarily distracted. Howevers. I heartily disagree with this assessment and maintain that the most important blender observing was performed by Rafa on Necker Island. Or, possibly, if we’re being technical, in the first round of the French Open, the fourth point and/or the ninth point of the second set tiebreak, when, had Rafa not observed and ultimately overcome various Brands of blenders, he might have been blended down into a two sets to love deficit. I’m not sayin’ Rafa couldn’t have come back, but, two sets to love down against a big-serving blender is no fruit smoothie.)

Randomly Partying with a Bryan Brother of the Year

.

Embracing the Side Sweep of the Year

.

Most Convincing Floating Head Optical Illusion of the Year

.

Mean Face of the Year

Intensity

.

“Sorry Not Sorry (But Still Sorry) I Hit You in the Face” Faces of the Year

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

.

Sombrero Wearer of the Year

sombrero

.

Matter-of-Factly Taking Down Trash-Talking Opponent of the Year

.

Second Serve Ace of the Year

.

.Falls of the Year

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

.

Smile of the Year

Smile

.

Heart of the Year

Wings

.

Vamos of the Year

.

Player of the Year

